Chef's Life

Ramp-ing Up to Spring

Episode #212 / Length: 27 minutes

Vivian hunts for ramps - Appalachian wild leeks - with renowned bacon purveyor Alan Benton near his home in the Tennessee countryside. Vivian's "ramp dealer" brings her his freshest stash, foraged from the North Carolina mountains. Proud grandparents watch as Theo and Flo show off a piglet and a baby goat at the county agriculture show. Vivian uses ramps like a spring onion, making a compound butter and pimped grits, and serving up grilled ramps, pickled ramps and sauteed ramps at a dinner party.

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Monday, January 29, 2018 at 9:00 PM ET / 8:00 pm CT on WFSU Create
  • Tuesday, January 30, 2018 at 3:00 AM ET / 2:00 am CT on WFSU Create