Nature

Soul of the Elephant

Episode #3304 / Length: 57 minutes

Ironically, every dead elephant with its ivory intact is a reason to celebrate. It means an elephant died of natural causes, not bullets, snares or poison, and a soul was allowed to be celebrated and mourned by its herd. Award-winning filmmakers, Dereck and Beverly Joubert start with the remains of two bull elephants and through a series of key flashbacks, look at the lives they would have led, the dramas they may have seen, their great migrations for water with their families, and their encounters with lions and hyenas. This film, shot over two years, will be an intimate look at elephants through the lens of perhaps the greatest storytellers of natural history.

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Wednesday, December 13, 2017 at 8:00 PM ET / 7:00 pm CT on WFSU
  • Thursday, December 14, 2017 at 1:00 AM ET / 12:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Friday, December 15, 2017 at 4:00 AM ET / 3:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Sunday, December 17, 2017 at 2:00 AM ET / 1:00 am CT on WFSU