Bob the Builder

Trying Hard

Episode #910 / Length: 29 minutes

Pass the Parcel: Roland Sweet of Roland's Gifts employs Bob and the team to install a robotic picking system which will pick items off the shelves, wrap them, and put them into delivery vans. It's the Christmas season and, because of an impending snowstorm, the team needs to work fast. Boasting his knowledge of robotics, Leo attempts to operate the system and it malfunctions. With the system down, the team works together to replicate the mechanical movements of the robots in order to complete all of the toy orders. Learning Goals: To show how systems have components that work together To understand the value of positive teamwork. To be aware of one's limitations. Dig This: Bob and the team are digging the foundations for a skyscraper in Spring City's new business zone. When Scoop and Muck engage in an on-site digging challenge against one another, Scoop makes an unexpected find. Bob calls archaeologist Graeme Spode, who announces that the discovery is Roman ruins. The building is halted while Spode and fellow archaeologists excavate the site. This event prompts an educational experience for the team as they learn about ancient tools. Bob and the team construct a viewing platform/walkway over the ruins so that people can safely watch the dig unfold. Learning Goals: To explore past and present. To observe the function and use of different tools. To explore various ways to measure.

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Monday, November 6, 2017 at 1:00 PM ET / 12:00 pm CT on KIDS360
  • Saturday, November 18, 2017 at 7:00 AM ET / 6:00 am CT on WFSU