Sara's Weeknight Meals

Jewish Holidays

Episode #610 / Length: 27 minutes

Sara celebrates the Jewish holidays with two traditional dishes that are often tricky to prepare. She takes viewers through the process, step by step, starting with wine braised brisket. On the side, her husband's Aunt Rifka's recipe for matzo balls they call 'flying discs'. Next, Sara and her nephew visit Stone Barns, the farm and food incubator in Westchester, New York to get fresh winter vegetables for her root vegetable latkes, Sara's version of the traditional Hanukkah dish. Recipes: Braised brisket with flying disks; Root vegetable latkes.

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Friday, December 22, 2017 at 8:30 AM ET / 7:30 am CT on WFSU Create
  • Friday, December 22, 2017 at 2:30 PM ET / 1:30 pm CT on WFSU Create