Florida Crossroads

The Governor Vs. Joe Camel

Episode #3030 / Length: 28 minutes

It's been 20 years since Florida reached a multi-billion dollar settlement with the nation's cigarette industry, making them pay the cost of treating sick smokers. Late Gov. Lawton Chiles fought tobacco companies, business groups and many in the state Legislature for years before the deal was approved. Florida still gets almost half-a-billion dollars a year from the agreement. John Kennedy looks back at one of the Capitol's biggest battles.

Scheduled Broadcast Times

  • Thursday, January 25, 2018 at 8:30 PM ET / 7:30 pm CT on WFSU
  • Sunday, January 28, 2018 at 11:00 AM ET / 10:00 am CT on WFSU
  • Friday, January 26, 2018 at 9:30 PM ET / 8:30 pm CT on 4FSU
  • Monday, January 29, 2018 at 10:00 PM ET / 9:00 pm CT on 4FSU
  • Tuesday, January 30, 2018 at 7:00 PM ET / 6:00 pm CT on 4FSU